The Crown Chakra

crown chakra
  • Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara
  • Location: Crown of the head
  • Colour: Violet/White
  • Element: Thought
  • Sense: Universal knowing

The crown chakra is depicted as the most beautiful and elaborate of all the chakras. This energy centre is represented as a lotus flower with 1,000 petals. It is located in the centre of the head just a couple of inches above the cerebral cortex. 

The middle of the lotus flower contains a circular shape representing the moon, as well as a luminous upside-down triangle. As the crown chakra becomes more awakened and energised, it starts to unfold and bloom into this dazzling violet/white lotus flower with 20 layers of petals, each containing 50 different-coloured petals. 

When this chakra is fully opened and aligned, we open up a portal – a direct line to the divine. We feel connected and we recognise the truth of our own divinity and power. This is the chakra that allows us to see the beauty in all things.

It doesn’t matter if all of the other chakras are open and balanced, if the crown is blocked we can’t fully experience that magic that a fully-lived life has to offer.

As the last of the 7-major chakras, this energy centre is our crowning glory. It represents unity, oneness, divinity, connection and enlightenment. When this chakra is fully awakened, it can cause an enormous shift in how we perceive this reality. We may feel like we have lived our whole lives in black and white, and now we get to live in colour. 

Things become more alive, more connected and divine. We may have glimpsed these transcended states before, but when the crown remains open we know we can fully inhabit this new reality.

Take this short QUIZ to discover if any of your chakras are blocked.