The Sacral Chakra

sacral chakra
  • Sanskrit Name: Swadhisthana
  • Location: Two inches below the navel
  • Colour: Orange
  • Element: Water
  • Sense: Taste

The Sanskrit word for the sacral chakra loosely translates ‘one’s own dwelling’, as this energy centre relates to our personal identity and our ability to feel all of our emotions. With this chakra, we need to learn how to feel in order to heal. It’s also the seat of pleasure, creativity, sexuality, and passion.

The sacral chakra is depicted as a beautiful six-petal lotus flower that is a vibrant orange colour. In the middle of this lotus flower is a yellow crescent moon, which symbolizes this chakra’s key element of water. The six petals are said to represent the six different vrittis, which are described as ripples or fluctuations of the mind. 

These six vrittis are affection, destructiveness, delusion, suspicion, disdain, and suspicion. In Yogic and Hindu traditions, we aim to calm this ‘mental chatter’ through movement, the breath, and meditation.

This chakra also relates to our own personal identity, how we view ourselves, and our place in the world. It gets us asking, Who Am I?

On an energetic level, the sacral chakra is the home of our emotional body. It controls our ability to feel and process emotions. When this chakra is vibrant and healthy, we have emotional intelligence and are capable of acknowledging and even welcoming everything that we feel.

Take this short QUIZ to discover if any of your chakras are blocked.