The Third Eye Chakra

third eye chakra
  • Sanskrit Name: Ajna
  • Location: In between the eyebrows
  • Colour: Indigo
  • Element: Light
  • Sense: Seeing/Intuition

The third eye chakra is an intriguing, mystical portal, which when fully awakened allows us to ‘see’ beyond this reality to both the inner and higher realms.

The Sanskrit term Ajna translates as ‘to perceive’, which is interesting as an open and nourished third eye chakra allows us to not only see but to understand the deeper meaning of our existence too. Hindus place a bindi on this centre to pay homage to the power of this chakra.

The third eye is depicted as a two-peal lotus flower, placing it out of sequence from all the other chakras that have an increase in the number of petals they have as you move up from the root to the crown. These two petals symbolise the two Nadis, Ida and Pingala, which run alongside the central energy channel called the Shushuma. 

On the left petal is the seed sound Ham which represents shiva, while on the right is Ksham, which symbolizes Shakti. In the centre of the lotus is the female Hindu deity, Hakini Shakti. 

She is often depicted with pink skin, six arms and faces, golden jewellery, a rosary, a book, a human skull and a drum. She is believed to offer knowledge of unconditional truth and assists us in living a fearless life.

Take this short QUIZ to discover if any of your chakras are blocked.